How to Merge Two Facebook Accounts Update

Ever so often individuals ask us How to Merge Two Facebook Accounts or even more Facebook accounts. Now do not obtain your hopes up! The fact is, it is not feasible to automatically merge Facebook accounts. Nonetheless, there are workarounds.

While Facebook does not supply a method to auto-merge all your friends, pictures, standing updates, check-ins or other information, you could by hand merge parts of your accounts. All it takes is a little prep work and perseverance. However, you won't have the ability to move or re-create every one of your Data.


How to Merge Two Facebook Accounts


Bulk Download Data

As a first step I suggest to mass download your Facebook Data, a treatment I have defined previously. This treatment could spend some time and also the archive will act as a minimal back-up, need to you make a decision to deactivate or remove your account. It will not be of excellent assistance in restoring any type of Data, though.

Quickly, most likely to your General Account Settings and also click Download a copy of your Facebook Data near the bottom.


This will certainly lead you to a page where you can download your details and also obtain a duplicate of just what you have shared on Facebook.


Currently do start your archive on this first page. In addition discover where it states You can likewise Download an expanded archive ... as well as click the respective web link. This will certainly assist you to the Expanded Archive Download page where you will be asked to re-enter your password.


Currently here is where you will require persistence. Depending on just how huge your main and also your expanded archive are and also the number of various other archives are in the queue, this could take a while. As well as keeping that I mean a number of hours.

Note that you should Download both archives, to receive a complete backup of your account!


As soon as your archive is available for download, this is what the web page will certainly look like.


Although your personal images are supposed to be consisted of in the archive, you ought to download your Facebook Photos individually. Not only is this treatment one more backup, it is likewise a lot faster as well as may provide you with more alternatives.

Restore Friends

As discussed above, you will not be able to Restore or migrate all of your Data which includes your friends. You should manually add friends to your brand-new account. Regrettably, it is not feasible export your Facebook friends to a 3rd party account and after that re-import them to a new Facebook account.

However, you can import contacts from 3rd party accounts such as Skype or Gmail. So if you have contact details of a lot of your friends on accounts beyond Facebook, you could take a tiny shortcut. Go to your brand-new Facebook account and also import calls from any type of supported third party account (CSV data are additionally supported) through the Discover Friends page.


While you can export your Facebook get in touches with to Yahoo! Mail, it is not be possible to re-import them to Facebook. And also get in touches with imported from Facebook will absolutely not be consisted of in a Yahoo! CSV data.

I composed a different article on ways to back up your Facebook contacts. Note that only contact details of friends who have consented to have their email address consisted of in information downloads can be imported right into your Yahoo! account.

Restore Account Data

Below comes the big letdown. There is no way to post or otherwise import your archive to Restore or transfer Data from your old Facebook account to your brand-new one. Whatever you want to Restore, you have to do it (semi-) manually or utilize third party devices. Now, the archive simply works as an individual back-up, nothing more.

So what are your choices? You can re-add your old friends as shown over, re-upload pictures you downloaded and install from your old account, re-tag your friends in your images, re-join teams you were a member of, re-add Facebook applications, manually re-do all your individual Settings, including basic account and personal privacy Settings, e.g. secure your Facebook account, include trusted calls, or conceal your individual Settings. I desire I had excellent information, but as I stated previously, you can not auto-merge two accounts or Restore Data, so you essentially start from scratch.

What You Will certainly Lose

You will lose a lot! Your entire Timeline as well as News Feed background will be gone, consisting of blog posts or images you were tagged in, places you checked out, all the Sorts you issued or received, or teams you were a member of, all your account as well as personal privacy Settings, and also any other records you collected over time. Your photos and friends are actually all you could take with you, everything else needs to be re-created by hand.

Shut down or Shut Your Old Facebook Account.

If you determine to deactivate or close your old Facebook account, make certain to include your new account as an admin to any Groups or Pages you handle. Or else you will lose accessibility to them.

As soon as you have taken care of admin functions, have actually downloaded all your Data, and are sure you intend to totally remove your account, log into the Facebook account you want to shut, as well as go to the Delete My Account page to start the process. We have actually previously clarified Ways to Appropriately Close Your Facebook Account.

Final thought

Facebook enables you to Download an archive of your account. Nevertheless, there is no coordinating system in position to recover your Data, should the account obtain endangered. Facebook never meant to give a recover attribute; rather they were legitimately compelled to offer a method for customers to download their Data. Therefore, users are left with only half-baked services or awkward workarounds, ought to they desire to merge or move accounts.

Exactly what would bother you most if you had to transfer to a brand-new Facebook account?